Skip to content

27 Ways Pets Can Improve Your Health – WebMD Slideshow

November 6, 2011

27 Ways Pets Can Improve Your Health – WebMD Slideshow.

 

I was searching the web for articles about the benefits of having pets for people with (or without) chronic conditions.  This slideshow on WebMD shows many ways animals have been found by researchers to help people enjoy better health.  I know I feel better just looking at all the cute animal pictures!

In my own life, my animal friends have supported me through good times and bad.  I rarely get out of bed before spending a few minutes stroking my cat’s fur and listening to her soothing purr.  My dog jumps up to greet me next and we head outside for her first walk of the day.  She helps motivate me to walk daily, improving my health at the same time as providing for her needs.

Allie looking at me with adoration.

Then there is the comic relief my pets add to my life.  The unexpected cat face looking out of a bag at me is a frequent source of comfort.  Even kitty battles for control of the top tier of the Great Cat Tower (located behind my favorite writing chair) have their own soothing effect, like the sound of children playing.  Ok, sometimes it’s annoying, but just gotta love those kitties.

Miss Bebe lounging with my knitting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    November 7, 2011 8:39 am

    On one of many days I’ve spent in the hospital, my adult son brought in my laptop, loaded with websites for “cute animals”. It was the perfect distraction from the terror of my newly diagnosed heart disease. Laughter really did help immensely.
    I think we all need breaks from the sadness and drama of our lives. Other animals doing what they do best often fits the bill for me.
    I also have 5 cats, (yes- I’m a crazy cat lady…) We keep one another busy and warm, and loved.
    Thanks for the great blog!
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

