Skip to content

The problem with stress…part 2

November 19, 2011

I have been scanning the internet looking for good resources for stress management.  Helpguide.org has a very good article here that covers a wide array of stress management strategies.  Mayo Clinic and Medline also have some good good information though these articles are not as comprehensive.

I had meant to do more of the writing myself this time, but it has been a tough week.  I have a close relative in the hospital and have been having to make a lot of decisions about how to care for myself while providing for the care for my relative.

Here are the main strategies I use for stress:

  • Learn to say no.  Set limits to keep from overextending yourself.
  • Get sleep.  Take steps to make sure you get the rest you need to function well.
  • Exercise.  Low to moderate intensity exercise helps boost energy and promotes relaxation.
  • Yoga.  This is my favorite.  The movement and the meditative quality of yoga helps me relax.
  • Spend time with friends.  Social support is very important.
  • Ask for help.  Get help coping when you need it, either from supportive friends or professionals.

There is so much more to say on this subject, but it will have to wait a while.  I invite suggestions from my readers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

