Skip to content

Putting on my cranky hat.

January 14, 2012

Sometimes when you don’t feel well or have a lot of stress, you can get a little snappy.  My husband and I both have some chronic health problems in addition to plenty of financial stress.  At times, emotions can run high.  With the help of a good therapist we’ve developed some strategies to defuse the tension.

It really helps us to bring humor into the conversation.  It takes practice for this to work, too.  We finally hit on saying, “I’m just feeling cranky.”  Now either of us can say this and help the other realize “it’s not you, it’s me.”  Also, I can tell my husband I’m just feeling cranky to help him not take it personally when I am not my bright, bubbling self.

I have a hat I knitted recently that I call my Fun Hat.  It is multi-colored with earflaps and a fun tassel on top.  My husband often teased me about my Fun Hat.  Lately he has taken to telling me I need a Cranky Hat.  We have agreed it should be red so it’s easy to spot.  He has expanded the concept to include the cat and the dog and any other random cranky being we run into.  That has increased the humor factor somewhat.  Now cranky hats for me, the dog, the cat, friends of ours, and my husband are on the project list.  We’ll see if I can get to all these.  I’m still trying to finish Christmas presents.

Keeping things fun helps us keep going.

My Fun Hat!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bj Babcock permalink
    January 14, 2012 11:31 am

    I love the cranky hat idea and what a wonderful way to communicate with each other! Thanks for posting. You made my day ~ I was feeling a little cranky this morning myself and I just told the hubs I had my cranky hat on, too!

Leave a Reply

