Skip to content

What would I say if I had dinner with Michelle and Barak?

June 27, 2012

I received an email from Michelle Obama.  Wow!  Michelle wrote to me (and millions of other people).  She says if I make any donation to President Obama’s campaign, I will be entered into a drawing to win dinner with Barak and Michelle on the campaign trail.  Part of me says this smells a little like begging for donations.  A lot more of me feels what I’m sure I am intended to feel, excited at the prospect of meeting the President and First Lady and just having a chat over dinner.  I can feel my imagination firing up, see myself sitting at that table.  It reminds me of the energy that swept Obama into office 4 years ago, knowing if we just work together we can solve our problems.  Unfortunately partisan politics destroyed that dream.

Practical considerations aside, what would I say?  What would they be like?  They seem quite personable and probably fun and interesting people to talk to.  Of course there are political subjects regarding health care and civil rights that are near and dear to my heart, but it would seem a wasted opportunity to just talk politics.  You don’t get to hang out with the president and the first lady every day.  That scene from Harold and Kumar go to Guantanamo Bay comes to mind, getting high with GWB.  I picture more of a relaxed meal drinking some good wine and talking about kids and travel.

Of course I would bring up my most pressing concerns about our government, who wouldn’t?  The real story of health care from the perspective of a practitioner and a patient, the failure of the present system of reimbursement, the importance of equal rights for all humans including marriage and protection of law come to mind.  The scary influence of religious zealots trying to legislate their beliefs for everyone in the country is another concern.  Then of course comes the idiocy of the electoral college and the failure of the two party system if there’s time.

I have a memorable story and am articulate enough to tell it effectively.  It’s just a fantasy, but I’d truly enjoy having the chance to share it with Barak and Michelle.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda in Oz permalink
    June 27, 2012 6:05 pm

    Then I wish you all the very best of luck. And if you win, I look forward to reading Chronic Concerns the next day !!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

