Skip to content

What can we do to move forward on making health care available to everyone?

June 29, 2012

I don’t especially like politics.  In general it seems like a lot of game playing by disingenuous, if not outright dishonest, people.  I suppose this is just the reality of how a society made up of billions of people functions.

I write this blog primarily as a creative outlet now that I can no longer work.  I am an educator at heart and want to be able to continue helping people to understand information about their health.  Having worked in the health care field for over 20 years, 13 of those as a registered nurse, I have seen what happens to people who are not able to access the care they need because they cannot afford it.  I’ve seen middle class families devastated by enormous medical bills (even with health insurance) when an unexpected catastrophic health crisis struck.  I remember my grandmother asking me about the best strategy for skipping her nitroglycerin patch when she couldn’t afford to buy enough of them.  I could go on and on, but I think I’ve gotten my point across.

I have made friends in other countries who are appalled by the way our health care system works in the United States.  They remark about how glad they are to have medication provided affordably and that they don’t have the fears we have of being driven to bankruptcy by a hospitalization or chronic illness.  They say they don’t mind their higher tax rates because they know they can access care if they become ill.

I feel hopeful with yesterday’s announcement of the Supreme Court’s decision upholding the Affordable Care Act.  I also feel fear and disgust hearing Mitt Romney’s response to this decision.  His pledge to “act to repeal Obamacare” on his first day in office strikes me as hypocritical considering his actions as governor of Massachusetts.  His individual insurance mandate has actually proved popular and “not a budget buster” according to Massachusetts governor Deval Patrick.  See an article about this here.

So, although the purpose of this blog is not political, I have decided to support President Obama by raising money to contribute to his re-election campaign.  I am providing a link that will take you to the Obama for America 2012 website and offer an opportunity to contribute to the campaign.  I will receive no renumeration for fundraising, simply the satisfaction of helping a good president in some small way.  I have set a goal of $500.  With your help we can reach this goal and (I hope) help continue on the way to health care for everyone.

https://donate.barackobama.com/page/outreach/view/2012/chronicconcerns

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2012 8:31 am

    Thank you for taking the risk of “being political”. In the scary world of shaky medical care and corrupt insurance company practices, nothing less than our lives are at stake. I chose life with affordable and excellent health care. As a person with chronic disabling heart disease, I endorse the idea that we each help one another. We just never know when it’ll be our turn to get sick, or for how long our illness will last. A “good life” does not necessarily go smoothly or without the hiccups of severe illness. We DO die eventually- ALL of us. I choose to spend my life in connecting with people compassionately, with unconditional positive regard for my fellow human beings. Or at least, I’d like to try.
    Time for us to veer away from the hatred and fear movement, back to the movement of humanistic and loving regard for all.
    That’s all.
    LOVE,
    Melissa

    • Cathy ( Cat) Valente permalink
      July 2, 2012 10:50 am

      Thanks Melissa for your reply and looking forward to see what our future will be.

Leave a Reply

