Skip to content

I’ve been really tired lately.

November 9, 2012

I haven’t been writing as much as I’d like to.  I’ve had a lot on my plate recently with preparing to move and an upper respiratory infection.  As often happens when I am under stress, I get very tired.  The enforced rest probably helps head off worse problems.  Two years ago at the beginning of December, while preparing to move, I had my heart attack.  The anniversary plus moving again has made me fear another cardiac event, but I think I will really be fine.

I have changed a lot in my life since that heart attack.  The biggest changes are around big stressors.  My husband and I have been reducing our expenses, trying to stay within our shrinking means.  The move two years ago was from a house with an upside down mortgage to an apartment.  This move is from the apartment to less expensive living arrangements.  I no longer work.  I had a stressful career which I enjoyed to some extent, but which was ultimately destructive to my health.  My husband and I both have disability income now, as opposed to two years ago when I was supporting my husband and managing his chronic problems.  He’s much more stable these days and able to help me as much as I help him.  So lots of things are easier now.

I’ve had a cold.  I remember when I was young feeling more miserable with the symptoms for 3 or 4 days, but being able to keep moving through a good deal of it.  I would get over it in 2 weeks or less.  In the last few years, colds hang on a lot more than they used to.  The acute stage gives way to several weeks of sinus drainage that keeps me coughing and sometimes turns into bacterial infections that are more debilitating than the cold.  I guess this is just part of aging.

So, I’m resting a lot.  Going out less.  Writing less.  Sleeping more.  I hope this will resolve as I get through this move.  All of us with chronic health problems face this from time to time.  It doesn’t take as much to make us tired as it does other people or our younger selves.  We have to remember that the disease process we live with is it’s own stressor that uses precious energy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Reyna permalink
    November 9, 2012 9:38 am

    Caryl,

    Please get better soon, I miss your writing. Your posts are informative & enriching.

    I am especially appreciative of you candidly discussing your upcoming anniversary and the circumstances in yout life then and now. I too, would have similar feelings.Thank you for being the voice of reason. And you bet, everything will be just fine.

    A simple life is a good life. This is the message that I’ve been meditating upon and a recurring answer when I pray & meditate about my life. Your description of how you and hubby now lead a simpler life illustrates how simple living is good for many aspects of our life.

    I know leading a simpler life for many wasn’t voluntary, but a necessity. A necessity that evolved into an awareness that for everything you lose you gain something.

    One of the benefits of simple living is the depth, love and closeness of friendships and relationships. Friends/relationships will end or be stronger than ever.

    May this period of rest and healing be graced with comfort, healing and love.

    Love- Reyna

  2. November 9, 2012 12:28 pm

    Hope you’re feeling better real soon. I really enjoy reading articles.

  3. Lynda permalink
    November 9, 2012 5:02 pm

    Best wishes with your health and move. Thinking of you, and as always, looking forward to reading more of your blogs when you’re up to it. Hugs, Lynda in Oz (woops, Aus)

  4. Beverly permalink
    November 10, 2012 6:17 am

    Caryl–I’m so sorry you are dragging. I think moving is extremely stressful all by itself and add to that your health and the anniversary of your HA–well, definitely a hard patch for you. I hope you stay as quiet as you can, get the move over and stay quiet as you can again for a while. I feel confident–yes, confident–that you will get through it all without intensifying your health issues. But it has to be a hard time for you and know that we are all wishing you the best. There are so many you have reached out to on your blog and Inspire and now you have all the support we can give you from a distance. Beverly

Leave a Reply

